The Beggar: Neues Swans-Album im Juni

Am 23. Juni erscheint mit „The Beggar“ der Nachfolger des letzten Swans-Albums „Leaving Meaning“. „The Beggar“ wurde in Berlin in der Besetzung Michael Gira, Kristof Hahn, Larry Mullins, Dana Schechter, Christopher Pravdica, Phil Puelo und Ben Frost aufgenommen.

Gira schreibt über die Entstehung des Albums: After numerous pandemic-induced cancellations of tours for the previous Swans album leaving meaning, and an apparent bottomless pit of waiting, waiting, waiting, and the strange disorientation that came with this sudden but interminable forced isolation I decided it was time to write songs for a new Swans album and forget about everything else. They came relatively easily, always informed by the suspicion that these could be my last. When I finally was able to travel, songs in hand, to Berlin to work with my friends recording this record, the feeling was akin to the moment in The Wizard of Oz when the film changes from Black and White to Color. Now I’m feeling quite optimistic. My favourite color is pink. I hope you enjoy the album.”

Das Album wird als Doppel-CD und Doppel-LP bei Young God Records (USA) und Mute (Europa) erscheinen.

The Beggar 2CD tracklisting


  1. The Parasite (8:27)
  2. Paradise is Mine (9:23)
  3. Los Angeles: City of Death (3:29)
  4. Michael is Done (6:08)
  5. Unforming (5:55)
  6. The Beggar (10:15)
  7. No More of This (6:55)
  8. Ebbing (11:04)
  9. Why Can’t I Have What I Want Any Time That I Want? (7:38)


  1. The Beggar Lover (Three) (43:51)
  2. The Memorious (8:38)

The Beggar 2LP tracklisting The Beggar Lover (Three) included on download card

Side A

  1. Paradise is Mine (9:23)
  2. The Beggar (10:15)

Side B

  1. Los Angeles: City of Death (3:29)
  2. The Parasite (8:27)
  3. The Memorious (7:53)

Side C

  1. Michael is Done (6:08)
  2. Why Can’t I Have What I Want Any Time That I Want? (7:41)
  3. Unforming (6:10)

Side D

  1. Ebbing (11:25)
  2. No More of This (6:55)